Governing Body

The Colleges of which UBT is comprised of are governed by its Charter which was approved by the Supreme Council of Higher Education. In light of Article 7 of the Charter, the UBT’s governing body consists of:

  • The Board of Trustees (BOT)
  • The University Council (Senate)
  • The Scientific Council.
  • The College Council/s.
  • The Departmental Council/s .

The key governing positions include the Rector, Vice Rector, Deans, Vice Deans and Head of Academic Departments (HODs), whom represent the Academic Structure of the University (UBT). BOT membership has been proposed to the Ministry of Higher Education (MOHE) and awaiting its approval. This board will consist of 19 members; 3 Owners, 4 Deans, 5 Members from other Universities, 5 external members, the Rector and the Ministry of Higher Education (MOHE) Representative. BOT’s responsibilities and tasks are specified in Article 11 of the Charter. The BOT meets at least twice a year to discuss and decide broad issues related to strategies, policies, objectives and long range planning. The University Council (UC) alternatively is the Operation Supervisor of the University that meets monthly to discuss and decide short and intermediate term academic issues. It consists of the Rector, Vice Rector for Academic Affairs, 4 College Deans, 3 College Representatives and a MOHE Representative. UC’s responsibilities and tasks are delineated in Article 15 of the Charter. The College Council of CBA is a Joint College Council (JCC) that combines the College Council of CBA Male and College Council of CBA Female. The JCC is headed by the two Deans alternately almost every month and combines the HODs and Departmental Supervisors of the two Campuses.

The College of Engineering (CE) has its own College Council whose decisions are subject to the Rector’s approval. The Jeddah College of Advertising (JCA) has no College Council yet, but has gained International Advertising Association (IAA) Accreditation.

When formed, the JCA’s College Council will follow the same rules and regulations of CBA and CE.

All Boards, Colleges, University or Trustees operate in light of the newly developed Vision, Mission and Objectives of the University (UBT) as attached.